Globe artichokes (Cynara scolymus) are drunk…

20140324-081013 am.jpg

I can only assume my Artichokes are drunk! I have a raised bed which is stuffed with them, I like to grow them for the bees, which adore the huge flowers in summer. Massive purple thistle like heads open up around July time. They are so massive they look like they are straight from Jurassic times. I can only assume it’s been so mild this winter they think it’s early summer and have grown their huge buds early!

I hope this won’t affect the plants through the year, I’m not entirely sure what to do. They have been there for about 8 years so maybe with age they get confused. It could be time to sow some more incase they die this year? Have you noticed anything odd in your garden or plot, would love to hear from you.

4 responses to “Globe artichokes (Cynara scolymus) are drunk…

  1. Hooray for new blog posts! I was starting to worry there might be no more. I love the artichoke flowers, they’re really cool. Not the kind of thing that’d go in a vase though.

    • Lol Yes back again! Been a bit busy with, well… rubbish stuff! Just hope the old Artichokes don’t die this year! They are such fun to photograph, plus the bees would be upset too!

  2. You can get its suckers to grow more plants besides growing from seeds.

  3. Interesting! Thank you! Xxxxx

Leave a Reply

