Image

Sprouts, do you love them or hate them?

20131111-054714 pm.jpg

I love the colour of my ‘Red Ball’ Brussels sprouts. Aren’t they lovely? I haven’t grown purple ones before and I’m quite excited to eat them.

Sprouts in my house is a bit of a dirty word, no except me eats them, however I’m hoping these may turn things around.

I grew them because I read they aren’t as bitter as the standard green ones, they have more of a nutty taste! We will see…

This year I’m rather proud of my sprouts normally they open up and turn into tiny cabbages due to the fact that my plot is extremely exposed to wind, don’t worry if yours do that, they are perfectly tasty.

Sprouts hate being rocked about and they will rebel by opening their sproutlets (that’s what I call them). But this year I really firmed them in and earlier on in the year I had them tied to bamboo canes to add extra support.

Also don’t be tempted to cover them in horticultural fleece, they adore a frost. The first frosts enhance their taste, so leave them to it and they will show you what they can do.

I’m really looking forward to my Christmas dinner complete with the ‘moanings’ about the smelly sprouts, but hopefully these little red ball beauties will shut them up from moaning too much. After all it’s not a proper Christmas dinner without sprouts!

8 responses to “Sprouts, do you love them or hate them?

  1. They look great! Those ‘Red Ball’ ones look very interesting. I’d love to know how they taste when you finally do get to eat them 🙂 Are they a heritage variety?

  2. They look great! Both of them! I love the taste of sprouts, cooked over boiling water, just enough to make them soft and tender….I think I’m going to make some for dinner now 🙂

  3. Sophie I’m not sure if they are heritage or not, I bought them on one of those impulse buys mostly to have a bash. I have had a quick look around on the net and there isn’t much about, which leads me to believe they must be a reasonably new variety but are widely available. I will let you know about taste etc! Xx

    Scripting happiness I hope you got your sprouts! Xxx

  4. Love sprouts with wholegrain mustard. Yours look great ! Just waiting to see how ours turn out too 🙂

  5. I’m sure they will be lovely! With mustard you say?? I like the sound of that! I shall give that a whirl xxx

  6. Merry Christmas and Best Wishes for the New Year! With love Maxima

  7. Well I can tell you those red sprouts were the best I have ever tasted ever! Nutty, sweet with that slight sprouty tang! Highly recommend! Put it this way, if a 6 year old eats them, they must be ok! X

Leave a Reply

