Image

Sweet & Spicy Tomato Chutney

20130908-030956 PM.jpg

The tomato jungle is beginning to take over the Poly tunnel. So it’s time to take action and get making chutney.

I’m not an expert at cooking but I will have a go and wow it’s good! It’s not as spicy hot as I wanted but at least my 6 year old daughter will eat it. To be honest she will eat spicy food but I didn’t want to go crazy. You may want to add extra chilli sauce to give it an extra kick, or even better actual chilli’s.

What I used

A collider of Tomatoes halved or quartered depending on size
2 large onions roughly chopped
1/2 cup of brown sugar
2 teaspoons of whole grain mustard
2 table spoons of smoky Tabasco sauce
2 tablespoons of hot chilli sauce.
200ml of white balsamic vinegar

And you lob it all in a big pan, bring to the boil while the sugar dissolves then put it onto a gentle rolling boil to reduce, about 45 minutes.

Then put it onto clean jars, and store in a cool cupboard or the fridge.

8 responses to “Sweet & Spicy Tomato Chutney

  1. This looks delicious! I love seeing everyone’s take on tomato chutneys and salsas! 🙂 I’ve been freezing my tomatoes as they ripen so that I will have a substantial amount to work with when I have the time 🙂

  2. What an impressive load of ripe tomatoes – now you’re just showing off 😉 ! Seriously, they look fab as does the chutney – when we have more than six tomatoes ripe at once we’ll give it a go ! 🙂

    • Lolol moi show off! Lolol maybe a bit… I do have far too many plants to be honest! I didn’t expect the seeds to germinate, then I couldn’t bare throwing the smaller ones away into the compost, so things just got a bit crazy! The tomato jungle is bonkers! But that smell when you water toms is beautiful!

      If your ever in the area and in need of tomatoes…. Please come and take some! Even the neighbours hide from me, I think they are calling me the tomato lady! Lolol xxx

  3. A lovely tomato harvest. Chutney looks great.

    • Cheers jean! Dad has already eaten his jar! I have been given thumbs up by him so it must be ok! Lol he is a fussy eater! I’m Looking forward to a massive cheese board and a bottle of wine to try it out! Xxx

  4. Reblogged this on Ace Food & Health News and commented:
    #AceFoodNews – As a chef l do not get time to make my own tomato chutney, but my brother has his won allotment and had a glut this year ,so waiting to try his, mouthwatering already, maybe ready for chrimble! Nice recipe so liked and re-blogged!

Leave a Reply

