Image

Home made pasta sauce

20130830-042558 PM.jpg

I had a bowl of tomatoes from the allotment so I thought I would whip up a pasta sauce for a quick and easy dinner next week. Plus I have a few onions which had lost their long leaves so would be hard to plait together, so time to get busy.

What a joy, I love making my own tomato sauce, it tastes so fresh and smells like Italy in a jar. Sweet over ripe tomatoes and home grown basil, bay leaves and wonderful onions and garlic… Bliss! and apart from some salt and pepper thats all thats in it.

The crazy thing is the jar is from a shop bought tomato sauce, I think cost me £2. Which was ok I suppose, I cannot help but think you only really pay for the jar and the food miles on it. In my sauce there are no colours or preservatives, no added sugar, no chemicals you cannot pronounce and probably quadruple the amount of actual tomatoes and it has only travelled 10 meters from where it was organically grown.

Nothing more comforting than a bowl of pasta with an actual real honest tomato sauce.

Recipe

A big bowl of tomatoes
A hand full of fresh basil
4 small to medium onions chopped roughly
2 cloves of garlic chopped
2 bay leaves
Salt and pepper to your taste

Blanch tomatoes in boiling water for 1 minute to help remove skins. Throw the skinless tomatoes in a pan to reduce down, gently fry onions until they are golden and see through. Add garlic towards the end so it doesn’t go bitter.

Add onions to tomato pan with two bay leaves and gently simmer for 20 minutes add basil and either serve or fill a jar and when cooled put into the fridge. I find it will last for a week, mainly because I want to eat it, or when it’s completely cool you could pour into a freezer bag for freezing.

I don’t go in for complicated cooking keep it easy that’s what I say!

Leave a Reply

