Image

I got those tomatoes to ripen

20130825-093323 AM.jpg

Here are my Tigerella tomatoes, aren’t they beautiful? I think they look like they have been dappled with gold leaf.

They a UK heritage tomato which have been around since the 1950’s. They aren’t the American Mr Stripy beefsteak ones, these are about the size of a snooker ball. I have read many people who plant them out of the UK struggle with them, just shows how these heritage seeds are perfectly suited to the climate they were bred for.

So a week or so ago I was wondering if I should do an experiment with bananas to get my tomatoes to ripen. Click here

I decided against using a paraffin heater and wondered about using bananas, then it hit me, whilst I was pruning the bottom leaves from my tomato plants… Why not use the leaves?

As you know I make my own greenfly spray from tomato leaf tea. I usually make small amounts and leave it in a sealed container as it gets a bit smelly. That’s when it dawned on me! The whiffy smell is actually what I need to get things moving.

So as I was going away for the week the smell wouldn’t bother me I filled a bucket 90% tomato leaf 10% water and off I went.

I got home yesterday and look what I have found! It worked! 30% them have already ripened and the rest are on their way. I asked the neighbours to see what the weather has been like, it hasn’t been terribly sunny or very hot so that hasn’t kick started them to ripen. So maybe it was the tea bucket?

Guess who will be making tomato salsa later?

5 responses to “I got those tomatoes to ripen

  1. They look fab – ours are just ready too – I think today’s the day !

  2. Isn’t it exciting! Xx

  3. I grow this variety each year. They produce a great amount of fruit per plant and taste absolutely fab.

    • I know! I haven’t bothered with tomatoes for a couple of years and I’m so glad I tried these fellas out! I have never seen so much fruit! Definitely doing them again next year. X

Leave a Reply

