Image

Black mint

20130523-102416 PM.jpg

Here is a little picture of my black mint next to oregano. The lush green is beautiful don’t you think? And I love the black stalks so pretty.

Black mint will spread out and take over, like all mint, it’s a bit of a thug. So I have learnt my lesson from my peppermint which attempted to take over one of my herb beds last year so I will be keeping my mints in pots then sinking it into the soil. Eventually you won’t see the pot as the foliage grows up and over the edges.

Black mint is a seriously minty mint. It will blow you head off. It’s brilliant, I cannot wait for rum cocktails with a huge sprig plunged in amongst the crushed ice.

Black mint also makes wonderful tea. It dries beautifully to and retains its minty taste. They say if you are feeling a bit sick its good for steadying your tummy too. It’s well worth getting a pot for your herb garden and come the summer it has tiny little pink flowers which are adorable.

Mint is also good for getting rid of ants. They say if you make a tea of it and spray it around your door frames and problem areas the ants will move on away from it. I am going to try that this year, I have noticed a few ant nests around my plot. I’m not too keen on using ant powder as I have a dog, whom I love dearly and don’t want to harm him. Got to look after Wordsworth the dog he’s my pal and he will eat anything he can get his paws on.

Black mint loves rich moist soil, but like I say it will totally take over if you let it. It sends out long roots underground which spring up all over the place!

Happy gardening x

Leave a Reply

